The Other Husband - Kathryn Croft

The Other Husband

By Kathryn Croft

  • Release Date: 2021-10-14
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 3.5
3.5
From 712 Ratings

Description

One dinner party will destroy everything.

The night that throws a wrecking ball into Abby’s life starts out perfectly at first. There’s still a hint of summer sun in the purple-streaked sky. Abby and her best friend, Sienna, look on fondly as their two husbands laugh under the garden gazebo. None of them know it’s the last time they will be together again.

What starts out as just a little fun, has devastating consequences for the couples. Alone with Sienna’s husband, Greg, Abby finds him unexpectedly charming. And something happens that night that neither she nor Greg can take back.

Abby is desperate to tell her husband and Sienna the truth, but can’t risk Greg sharing what he knows about her. She has no choice but to keep quiet. Then Greg suddenly disappears.

Is her best friend’s husband simply running from his secrets? Or has someone decided they can’t risk that he may share theirs?

The most gripping and twisty psychological thriller you’ll read this year from #1 bestseller Kathryn Croft. Perfect for readers who loved Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train.

What everyone is saying about Kathryn Croft:

‘I loved the story-telling voice behind this intriguing domestic drama which takes you to the heart of its characters. Intelligently written.' Jane Corry, author of The Lies We Tell

‘An extremely twisty plot centring around the disappearance of a central character… the plots twists all over the place with a final one which took me completely by surprise. A well written, enjoyable thriller.’ Lesley Sanderson, author of The Birthday Weekend

OMG Kathryn Croft has done it again!!! I devoured this book in two days!!! ... From the beginning to end kept in suspense and shock. I really didn’t see any of it coming.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I proudly hand over 5 twisty messed-up stars to this book!!! I loved this and all the WTF moments… It was so freakin’ cool to read! Oh let’s just say... THAT ending!... 5 Stars from me!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘Oh, what a great ride this book washer best book yet! She writes a great story… keeps you guessing right to the very end! I absolutely loved this book… can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘My 1st book from this author and I loved it… a page-turner… the twist is explosiveRead it in two days… very gripping and emotional… will be reading more from this author.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Kept me on the edge of my seat… A story of secrets and lies with many twists and turns. A very enjoyable read that I read in one day as I couldn't put it down.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘A great psychological thriller that had me guessing until the very end… Family secrets, lies and twists made this a page turner that I didn't want to put down. 5 twisty stars from me!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘A very gripping read and I was shocked at the end. Unputdownable.’ NetGalley review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘So many twists and turns! … Hard to put down and worth every moment.’ NetGalley review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘This book had me guessing right up until the very last chapter … I couldn’t put it down. A perfect thriller!’ NetGalley review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘Wow! Wow! Wow! Kathryn Croft at her best’ NetGalley review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I read it in one day … The ending is also fantastic and is a real gut punch for the reader. Highly recommended, a must-read novel!’ NetGalley review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘A captivating, gripping read, very very highly recommended and definitely going to be one of my favourite reads of this year.’ NetGalley review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviews

  • Twisty turny fun

    5
    By Smilleygal
    This book had so many twists. Every time I thought I knew where it was going BAM it shifted. Started recommending this to friends before I was a third of the way through the book.
  • Disappointing

    2
    By heeavenn
    Good characters but not a great story. No psychological thrill at all.
  • Round and around it goes . . ugh!

    1
    By frenchy0674
    The initial intrigue grips you, until a who-dun-it won’t give up. Repetitive, character in-fighting, and the intrigue fades into a I don’t care, who-dun-it. I finished it, but what a struggle.
  • Interminable

    1
    By midlotam
    So sorry I wasted hours of my life on this book. Too long, and too confusing. And no, I’m not stupid - I’m a retired teacher and copy editor. The plot twists were, I imagine, meant to be suspenseful, but they were simply incomprehensible. I came to care less and less about these characters, but kept reading to see “whodunnit .” The ending was completely unbelievable!
  • Really good and a page turner. Would have preferred a little different ending

    4
    By tyraaz
    Enjoyed it a lot. I couldn’t put it down. I was mildly disappointed in the ending. Although it was a surprise I feel like there could have been more explanation for it and it didn’t 100% make sense. Overall really good read.
  • The other husband

    4
    By TyNelson24
    Great read. I liked all the twists and turns. Great surprise ending too. Highly recommend
  • Always making me guess!!

    5
    By Muziklvr2006
    I love that I am constantly trying to figure out “whodunit” and I am wrong every time. Great, suspenseful writing! Always left wanting more!!
  • Captivating

    4
    By Chivojn
    This book was not only well written but keep the twists and turns coming. Looking forward to reading more from the author.
  • Surprising twist!

    5
    By Cazdon
    Love the twist at the end! Hard to set this book down.
  • Great book.

    5
    By Onioneye
    I could not put this book down! Just when I thought I had things figured out the story would take a turn! Awesome writing.